Unit 1

 

Task 1 : Comparing 4 tracks from 2 various genres:

Track 1 : Isaac Hayes Ikes rap 2:

What type of tone is the song?

  • The tone of the song is slow and steady.
  • Drums start the song with a slow beat and then forms the track when piano comes in
  • Piano is the main chords of the song and is easily heard out of all the instruments
  • Violin is heard and is used by fading in and out with it

What effects are put on the song?

  • Reverb is used on the vocals to make them stand out the most in the song they most likely used a large hall on his vocals to do this.

Are there over dubs?

  • Over dubs are not needed on the song due to that the artist has had reverb added to there vocals.

Track 2 : Alessia Cara Here:

What type of tone is the song ?

  • The tone of the song is faster compared to Ikes rap
  • Drums start the song with a slow beat then speeds up as the piano comes in
  • Piano chords are faster and are the main instrument heard through the song

What effects are put on the song?

  • There isn’t much reverb on the vocals but the vocals do have a dry sound to them which means there is a little reverb on them.

Are there over dubs?

  • Over dubs are on the song to give the vocals a better effect.

Track 3 : EO 1 take:

What type of tone is the song ?

  • The tone of the song is Slow but then speeds up and then slows down again.
  • Synth starts the song with a fast chord then keeps a slow tempo
  • The Clap and the synth are the main instruments heard through the song

What effects are put on the song ?

  • There is a subtle reverb on his vocals to increase loudness

Are there over dubs?

  • Over dubs aren’t needed on the song because the artist has reverb on there vocals.

Track 4:Eminem Killshot

What type of tone is the song?

  • The tone of the song is slow and stays slows throughout
  • Piano chords start the song which stay throughout the track
  • The Snare and hats and piano chords are the main instruments heard through the song

What effects are put on the song?

Reverb are heard subtlety to give a louder effect on the vocals

Are there over dubs?

Over dubs are used to give a better effect of who Eminem is trying to send a track to.

Task 2: Create a track 

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 9.35.54 hrt6eryjnthmuky

This is my Trap song I created using Logic Pro X

Task3:Reflect and evaluate on the track 

Day1: I added Created the melody and chords I used Asian plucked strings I added reverb and increased the dryness to give it a more echoed sound so when its played it gives a louder sound so it can be heard better, I felt this would give a better effect because it made the strings louder to make sure the piano was in time I added hats into the track to make sure it was in time and sounded great.

Day2: After having the melody and chords in place I then decided to add a Snare in; I have a sample pack that I had downloaded I used this because I thought this would give a better effect then using the samples on Logic Pro X I made the gain more on the snare because I felt this would give a louder effect on the snare which made it more heard through out the track. After then adding in the snare I added in a kick from my sample pack I felt that the kick was overpowering the whole mix so I decided to turn the gain down which made the kick and snare contrast together.

Day3: I then started to pitch bend my 808 to fit into the mix I felt that this would give it a better sound after then finishing my 808 I decided to add in a jingle sound which emphasized a build up to my snare then I added in a sound from a sample pack which Made the snare sound a lot more punchy.

Day4: I then added in a deep choir I then reverbed it so that it sounded more deep and smooth to fit into the mix I then mastered my track by adjusting the gain through out the track I realised that my bass was pushing through the track so I turned the gain down on my 808. I then uploaded it where you can see it at https://soundcloud.com/user-290519355

Published by

harrycookl3musicci

Currently Studying level 3 Music Technology at Colchester Institute and I am in Year 1 of the 2 year course

Leave a comment