Unit 7 – Remixing

Task1- How can remixes can help your music career

The music scene can be hard to get into for producers who are unknown and do not have contacts to have there music listened by other people  , Remixes can help you practise building up your skill to make you a better producer these skills can consist of Mixing and mastering, practising different styles of music so you could make your own track when you have a viewing-eg House or trap.

If you are remixing a famous artists you can use there fame for when people are searching for their song on the internet, and your remix will pop up before theres and if your remix is good enough then people will potentially check out your other creations and you will have more followers, if you remix the song into another genre this could help gain you more fans who are into other genres like your music.

 

 

 

 

Task2-Diary

Diary

I felt like I needed time to plan what song and type of music I want to choose to remix the song so decided to start later on and finally chose what track I wanted to use; at first I decided to use Coldplay then realized I wanted to use the track Summer time sadness because I felt the tempo of the song was and as I am not very good at chords this was the one for me to choose.

11th December : First of all I found out what chord I needed to play which was the E Flat chord I used the plugin called Tuner on the piano loop that was on the logic file with summer time sadness to find out what what chords are being played, After doing all of this I decided to strip the track down to just the summer time sadness Vocals.

17th December : then I had to decide what instrument I chose the synth Analog poly synth because of the sound it gave I felt that it fit with the lyrics of summer time sadness I chose the genre EDM because of the tempo which is 112 bpm this is what the chords looked like after adding it to logic it also gave a analog sound to the track rather then a digital EDM track.Screen Shot 2019-01-08 at 16.19.47.png

 

screen shot 2019-01-28 at 15.40.44

7th January: I decided the chords went well with the hi-hat analog circuits this is what the piano roll of my hi-hat look like the hats helped the track form a build up.

Screen Shot 2019-02-04 at 09.32.56.png

8th January: After adding the hats which fit great with the track I added a clap to form the track when the build up is happening.

14th January: Once my build up was made I started to create my drop I used Deep Techno FM Bass because of the pluck sound; it branched my track out into house which is slow but as the lyrics of summer time sadness are faster than my drop  I had to use a plugin on the lyrics called “Vocal Transformer”

Vocal transformer helped me slow down the vocals and made them sound deeper this made my track house as you can see the dial format is changed to -24 which has made the vocals sound darker.As I used this this helped me learn how to use this plugin correctly and now I can make vocals darker or lighter.

To create a contrast to the drop I used another synth called digi cream this gave a different plucky repetitive sound because of the reverb that is on the sound.when the drop came in I used automation to slowly cancel the other sounds out, While I slowly brought the drop in  the reason why I didn’t add reverb to the sounds is because of the synths I have chosen which already have effects and reverb on them.

 

Screen Shot 2019-02-04 at 09.52.43.pngScreen Shot 2019-02-04 at 10.45.47.png

Task 3 – Create MP3 of remix

 

 

Task 4 – How I created the remix

Before I could make the remix the track started with the vocals and the piano chords I decided to strip it down to just the vocals after this I then started my track with the chords I had to use the plugin tuner to find out what chords were being played and it was the E Flat chord. I used the synth Analog poly synth because I thought it went well with the vocals. I felt in the mix the chords sat great because of the synth sound with the vocals.

Screen Shot 2019-01-08 at 16.19.47.png

screen shot 2019-01-28 at 15.40.44

After then choosing my chords I then decided I needed some hi hats to start a build up it helped form the track at the beginning. in the mix the hats sat perfectly because of the tinny sound sitting together with the synth and vocals

Screen Shot 2019-02-04 at 09.32.56.png

After then bringing the hi hats in I then cut them off and added in a clap because I felt on the drop it would sound much better and would go with kicks when I add them in. In the mix I felt that the claps sat perfect because it mixed great with the drop and  the build upScreen Shot 2019-02-08 at 12.50.51.png

As you can see the analog circuits is the claps and you can see that on the midi track that I added multiple claps to help with the build up. The two deep techno FM Bass are my drops and I felt that they should of been placed there because of the fade out which is dropkick I then changed the deepness of the vocals using the plugin Vocal TRF this helped the drop become in time with the vocals of summer time sadness. I added in kicks because I felt that it went well with the drop and it helped the lower frequencies come through the track and it helped bring the mix of the drop together.

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 13.30.53.png

When Mastering my track I had to use the plugin Compressor what compressor does is boosting the quieter sounds while reducing the louder sound, I am now a lot more familiar with the compression plugin as I had practise when mastering my remix, this helped me familiarise my self with the buttons on the plugin, threshold is how loud the sound is before the compressor is applied and make up gain helps make the sound louder in the mix.

Evaluation

I think the track was a success and I’m really pleased with it and I feel that I have progressed so much from where I started from when I first started, but if I were to go back on my track and change things I would put a part in my track where it contrasts everything and this part would be completely different to everything else in the track

I feel that this would of made the track better then it is now because it would add different sounds into the mix and it would make things in the track unpredictable

 

Published by

harrycookl3musicci

Currently Studying level 3 Music Technology at Colchester Institute and I am in Year 1 of the 2 year course

Leave a comment