Unit 8-Proposal

Task 1

Section 1

Q1: How much progress have you made since September 2018?

Since I have started college at September 2018:

I feel that I have been able to create better tracks and also been able to mix and master them as I now know how to use the compressor plugin to help me keep my decibel on logic down to -4dB and so that this helps in mixing so that my track doesn’t clip.

Q2: Specifically what have you learned during units 1 to 7?

Unit 1 & 2 helped me familiarise my self with how to make a proper track in logic by showing me differences in musicality which shows me the differences and structures of how the track should be actually made.

Unit 3 Helped me to see what it is like to create your own music business and what steps you need to take to do so, for example:

Unit 4 Helped me to be able to properly set up instruments in a live sound setting in the Swinburne hall also I learned how to properly get output to the main monitors in the hall by using the sound desk

Unit 5 Made me be able to properly use the studio by helping me learn certain mic techniques for overheads and guitars, also it helped me learn what microphones to use I also learned how to use the sound desk for the studio and now I can send guitars or drums to to the head phone bay so when I am recording guitar and the musician wants to have drums in their headphones I can do so.

Unit 6 helped me be able to mix and master tracks correctly it helped me familiarise my self with the compression plugin in logic the plugin in helps because it helps your track not clip and can help make vocals sit better in the mix.

Unit 7 taught me how to properly create a remix track but also I felt that it helped me understand chords better and helped me understand how to create drops on my own tracks

Q3: What does this learning mean to/for you?

This learning has helped me to understand things that I didn’t know or wasn’t familiar with but this also has helped me to become a better producer and I feel like that I have made a lot of progress and I have learnt a lot of techniques since when I first started to become a producer.

Q4: How has your learning/experiences during units 1 to 7 influenced your choices for unit 8?

learning from unit 1 to 7 it helped me influence during recording my band for unit 8, when I was in the studio I decided to use the X and Y Technique for my drum overheads and I also miced the top tom and bottom tom because of the type of band I am recording ,when recording guitar amps I used the technique double up where I placed a microphone on the front of the amp and at the back so that during the mix it sounds a lot fuller and can be heard better in the mix.

Section 2

Q5: What is the concept behind your project?

The concept behind the project is to record in a group of two, a three track ‘Screamo’ EP within a ten week period. The band is called ‘Screaming Walls’ they consist of three guitarist, vocalist, bassist & a drummer.

I am then as an individual set the task of mixing and mastering the three track EP using chosen techniques that I have learnt from units 1-7 whilst having influences from the research task about the ‘Screamo’ Genre and ideas given to me by the band of how they want themselves to sound. Slipknot is a key influence of the band as they have followed similar stage appearance through the use of Halloween style masks.

After the mix and master stages are complete I am giving the option to create an original composition or chose to be the live sound engineer for ‘Screaming Walls’ upcoming gig that will take place within the ‘Swinburne Hall’ I have chosen to create an original compisition as I would like to follow the career path of a multi-media composer as this is something that has interested me for some time now. Once the composition is complete it will be uploaded to all streaming services to expand my potential listener base.

Q6: What are the sources that inspired it and will support you developing it?

I have researched into bands of the same genre in order to get a rough idea of how the tracks should sound. These are the following bands I have researched into in order to understand the genre and its processes more:

 

Based on this research I have discovered that the instrumentation relies heavily on the guitar and drum recordings to push the track, however the vocal track is always slightly higher in the mix around these recordings and requires low frequency cutting in order to push it above the rhythmic section.

Drums: Drums will need to be heavily compressed to match the snap of the chosen influence track’s drum sonic characteristics.

Guitar: Guitars will need distorted tones in order to match the genre, for example a plugin alternative for this sound would be the ‘amp designer’ in Logic using the ‘Razor Rock’ preset which matches the desired tone of the influence track.

Vocals: Vocals consist of a clone tone, however they benefit from a small amount of bussed distortion to have more control over the harmonics of the recording and finish off the mixing process with a small amount of reverb to reduce the harshness of this sound.

Q7: What resources do you need to carry out this concept within the timescale ?

The resources I will need to complete this project within the timescale include:

  • Sound-craft Signature 22MTK mixing desk.
  • Yamaha HS5 Studio monitors
  • Mackie HR624mk2 Studio Monitors
  • Laney LV300 120W Tube Combo Amplifier
  • Shure SM57 Condenser Cardiod Mic
  • Rode NT1a Condenser Cardiod Mic
  • Audix D6 Dynamic Cardiod Mic
  • Sennheiser E904 Dynamic Cardiod Mic
  • Shure PG81 Condenser Cardiod Mic

Section 3

Q8: How will you record your evaluation through out the project?

I am going to record my evaluation during my project by using WordPress but to do this I am going to create a weekly diary of what I will be creating during the weeks of recording.

Q9: How are you going to record decisions that are made during the project?

I will be documenting my decisions by using a weekly diary and also once I have create it I will then be evaluating and reflecting on my own progress that I have made for each weeks. for the diary I also will be providing screenshots to go along with the diary.

 

Published by

harrycookl3musicci

Currently Studying level 3 Music Technology at Colchester Institute and I am in Year 1 of the 2 year course

Leave a comment